Arkansas Misdemeanor and Felony Penalties

 

Arkansas misdemeanor and felony penalties vary greatly, depending on the charged offense. With four classifications for misdemeanors and six classifications for felonies in Arkansas, it may be unclear what penalties you or someone you know face if accused with a criminal offense.

Roberds Law Firm Extradition & Arrest WarrantsThe following information should be used as a guideline only. Laws and their enforcement change, and the penalties described below may change over time as well. While we attempt to keep every informational post updated and accurate, if you are or may be charged with a crime you should consider consulting an experienced criminal defense attorney.

MISDEMEANORS

  • Class A Misdemeanor
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 1-year
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $2,500
  • Class B Misdemeanor
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 90-days
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $1,000
  • Class C Misdemeanor
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 30-days
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $500
  • Unclassified Misdemeanor
    • Sentence limited by the particular statute. If a statute classifies a crime as a misdemeanor but does not clarify, the crime is presumed to be a Class A Misdemeanor.
    • Maximum sentence limited by the statute
    • Maximum fine defined in the statute

FELONIES

  • Class Y Felony
    • Minimum sentence of 10-years
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 40-years or life
  • Class A Felony
    • Minimum sentence of 6-years
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 30-years
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $15,000
  • Class B Felony
    • Minimum sentence of 5-years
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 20-years
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $15,000
  • Class C Felony
    • Minimum sentence of 3-years
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 10-years
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $10,000
  • Class D Felony
    • Maximum sentence not to exceed 6-years
    • Maximum fine not to exceed $10,000
  • Unclassified Felony
    • Sentence limited by the particular statute. If a statute classifies a crime as a felony but does not clarify, the crime is presumed to be a Class D Felony.
    • Maximum sentence limited by the statute
    • Maximum fine defined in the statute

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

You may also wish to visit our blog page to review posts by category for more information on the offense in question. If we do not have the information you were looking for, request we post on that topic by contacting [email protected] and visit the additional resources linked throughout the Roberds Law Firm website.

If you or someone you know has been arrested or may be arrested for a criminal offense, you should consider consulting an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. Call the Roberds Law Firm on the Bentonville Square for a free consultation at 479-464-0904.

 

Additional Resources:

A Guide to Arkansas Felony and Misdemeanor Penalties – avvo.com

Arkansas Felony Crimes by Class and Sentences – criminaldefenselawyer.com

Blog support provided by Elson Freelance.

Leave a Reply